Stocktaking

A star made of koru - a Maori symbol of creation, growth and strength.

A star made of koru – a Maori symbol of creation, growth and strength.

As one year slips seamlessly into the next (apart from a little bit of haziness around 3am), it’s a good time to look back at 2012 and forward to all the possibilities in 2013.

A year ago I knew that I wanted to start a business, but wasn’t sure exactly what I wanted it to be. I had started painting shapes and patterns on fabric, and was grappling with graphics software to try to get the ideas in my head onto paper. Then I found the 2nd Print & Pattern book in a local shop and it piqued my interest, opening my eyes to the possibility of surface pattern design – obviously patterns must be designed by someone but I had never thought it was an actual job!

On the P&P website I found the online course The Art & Business of Surface Pattern Design, which seemed to offer what I was looking for, so I took a risk and signed up. The course got me creating, made me think and look at things differently, gave me a huge amount of industry information and, without being too melodramatic, has changed the direction of my career and life.

I’m still grappling with software, and still have a long way to go to get to the kind of business I’d like to have, but I have made massive progress in the last 12 months. I’ve starting building a portfolio of work, set up this blog, and a website (which I will officially launch in the next few weeks), and made products which real people have paid me real money for – this feels quite bizarre and very exciting!

Over the next few weeks I will make the finishing touches to my new site, and my major focus for the first part of this year is to produce lots more designs and collections to build up a really strong portfolio. And find a UK manufacturer for fabrics.  Oh and find an agent. So a quiet start to 2013…

What are your goals for the year?

7 thoughts on “Stocktaking

  1. Anna,always nice to come across someone else who is still very new to this world of spd. I was thinking you had been at it for a while! You have had a very productive year. Wishing you lots of success in 2013! Juliex

  2. Hey Anna, it’s Andy’s friend Kirsty. Andy’s been telling me about this new project / business of yours. I think it’s really inspiring! Since having Nancy I’ve been considering what other things I could do that are more in line with my passions and have been writing about how this sort of thing is totally do’able (http://bit.ly/SLkrNJ), so it’s ace to see someone actually going for it. Good luck for 2013 x

  3. Pingback: Want to try something? Just do it. « muthathunka

    • hi. This is so encouraging! I’ve just finished module 1 of ABSPD and just think it has been a fascinating journey so far. So pleased to hear yet more positive outcomes! Hope 2013 surpasses your expectations.

Leave a Reply

